Baby, baby,baby

Now now don’t get me wrong I’m not a belieber and am not singing a bieber song. Oh no! I am referring to the movie I recently saw called,’Baby’. 2:45mins of a fit looking Akshay Kumar dealing with our ‘friendly neighbourhood jihadi’s’. I must say I enjoy watching parallel cinema. Not one for romantic movies or books, I’ve always enjoyed stories with a bit more, for the lack of better words- ‘story’ to it. I didn’t say substance because all stories don’t necessarily have substance.

rashid422 Danny_Denzongpa

Well, this one however, started out quite well. It was pleasant to see Danny D back on the screen. He still looks the same as he did in his last movie eons ago (I want those genes). The premise of the story was good. The ‘undeniable inspiration’ from ‘argo’ was over lookable, but  as we sometimes tend to do, add too much masala, eventually made the movie difficult to digest. I was happy to see the lady officer able to hold her own, and the character played by Rasheed Naz (incidently a Pakistani actor) is so well executed, he does make you hate him. Well played! But most of all I am happy, always happy when a new story is gambled with. Different movies and story lines (breaking away from the romantic dramas) have been on the scene for a while now. It’s great to see when new ideas are introduced. I understand the makers of such movies take huge risks, monetarily and otherwise. But this is in the interest of the people and art.

It’s also lovely to see the confluence of holly and bolly wood. Our stars are truly making a mark on the international front. Our world grows albeit ironically as it shrinks. Exposure, exposure, exposure, of cultures, traditions, lifestyles,is the new order of the day.

slumdog millionaire

But I have been wondering, have you noticed, most of our actors grabbing good meaty roles in hollywood movies are generally depicted plain looking and with a very flat accent. I certainly hope that is not a pre requisite for their casting. Our actors do have alot more to offer.

Tabu in Life Of Pi Movie Photos _2_ Irrfan_Khan_2012 om puri

Finding Fanny was another such ridiculously delightful movie which proves my point, of talent beyond accent. Loved everyone in the movie and the quirky storyline itself.

finding fanny

Thank you parallel cinema makers and torch bearers of the art world, for constantly breaking the mould and pushing the envelope.

I am looking forward to the Russel Peters show this weekend, another new genre of entertainment in our world of art, stand up comedy.

Russell_Peters_USO-Pose-Nov-21-07Hopefully his jokes will be kosher enough for everyone to digest, or else, ‘somebody gonna get a hurt real bad’ !!!

Leave a Reply

